Archive for 2010

Open Senator Positions!

The Student Senate is seeking representatives for the following area: Prairie View Hall If you are a resident in Prairie View Hall  and are interested in serving your peers as a representative please contact Erik Bryz-Gornia at

Student Senate Elections Today!

Have you voted for your Student Senate class and residence hall representatives yet? Join your fellow classmates at the virtual polls and vote for your senators! Online voting is being conducted today from 9:30 AM to 10:00 PM. To access online voting, please visit and log in with your Gustavus username and password. Don’t […]

Contingency Fund Updated

The contingency fund spreadsheet has been update for use in mid-year requests. The new workbook can be found on the Senate Finance page located here. Any questions regarding the contingency fund workbook should be directed to either Kristin Kunz or Brandon Hirdler.

Senate Applications Available

Senator applications will be available tomorrow in the Dean of Students Office. Applications are due by 4:45 PM on Tuesday, September 14th. Senate Voting will occur on Thursday, September 16th. Remember, applications must be signed by Deirdre Rosenfeld and that all guidelines listed on the application must be followed.

Student Senate Press Release 4/19/2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE April, 19th 2010 BY-LAW CHANGE PROPOSAL- Section 6 subsection 1 bylaw 3 states that all student organizations must post on the GACspot website. The website has only recently been functioning correctly and still has minor problems to work out. As a result, the Senate believed that it was unfair to ask the […]

Student Senate Press Release 4/12/2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 12 April 2010 ADMINISTRATIVE FORUM- The Student Senate successfully held the Administrative Forum, an open question discussion with President Ohle, Provost and Dean of the college David Fienen and Mark Anderson, Dean of Admissions. OMBUDSMAN- The Student Senate elected Erik Byrz-Gornia to fill the position of Ombudsman for the 2010-2011 school year. […]

Student Senate Press Release 3/15/10

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 15 March 2010 FINANCE COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVE As a result of Brandon Hirdlerʼs recent appointment to Finance Committee Chair, Jacob Lundborg was approved to take over the open seat on the Finance Committee. ADMINISTRATIVE FORUM The Administrative Forum, which will enable all students to have a conversation with members of the administration, will […]

Student Senate Press Release 3/1/2010

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 1 MARCH 2010 CO-PRESIDENT ELECTIONS- The Student Senate would like to offer congratulations to Emily Thayer and Sean Tessmer for their victory in the elections. In addition to electing new co-presidents, the student body voted “yes” to all of the proposed constitutional amendments. ROCK-A-THON- Student Senate has organized a Rock-A-Thon Committee to […]

Next year’s Student Senate Co-Presidents are…

Students, Thank you for participating in the Senate Elections this spring; the turnout rate was higher than last year!  The results are as follows: Emily Thayer and Sean Tessmer – 81% Katie Winkelman and Phil Cleary – 15.3% Write-Ins – 3.7% Thus, Emily Thayer and Sean Tessmer will serve as the Senate’s next Co-Presidents.  Additionally, […]

Student Senate Spring Elections Today!

Students, You may now vote for next year’s Co-Presidents, changes to the Student Senate Constitution, and the proposed changed to how the Student Activity Fee is determined by visiting this website: You may vote from any computer on campus, including where Student Senate is tabling in the Campus Center (Lower Level.)  Thank you for […]